Nestled in a North Florida forest habitat, the lighthouse beams nightly, with an acrylic replica of its original 4th order Fresnel lens. The Crooked River Lighthouse Keeper’s House replica, which was patterned after the original 1895 plans, and was completed in 2009. Inside, both the history and the science of the lighthouse are being interpreted via fascinating exhibits and an educational movie, along with a gift shop. Exhibits include a historical setting of the early 1900’s, examples of beacons and the methods of constructing a skeletal tower lighthouse. Everyday life objects in the Keeper’s Room include its original clocks, a barometer, a glass fire grenade, pages from the keeper’s watch book, currency and much more. Visitors can look through replica Sears’ catalogs for a perspective on cost of living during the past century. Group educational tours are welcomed and new science-based programs are being developed. Enjoy a climb to the top on weekends.
The Crooked River Lighthouse was built in 1895 to replace one on Dog Island that was destroyed in a hurricane in 1873. Authorities decided it would be better to have a lighthouse on the secure mainland rather than the exposed Dog Island. Electricity came to the lighthouse in 1933 and it became automated in 1952. The lens was built in 1894 by Henri LaPaute in Paris, France. The lens was removed in 1976 and is now located in the U.S. Coast Guard 8th District Offices in New Orleans. The lighthouse was deco
May 29, 2022
Jan 15 - Aug 31, 2022
May 16, 2022
Jan 16, 2022